Browse by Categories
  Towns / Villages
  Arts / Crafts
  Business Directory
  Leisure Activities
  Photo Gallery
  What’s on
Attractions in Portumna County Galway Ireland
Home Advertise Contact Us

Portumna - Attractions
Accommodation  ~ Hotels  ~ B&B  ~ Self Catering  ~ Hostels  ~ Restaurants 
Property  ~  Business Listings  ~  Attractions  ~  Activities  ~  Maps 
Portumna Castle
The castle was built prior to 1618 by Richard de Burgo (Burke), the 4th Earl of Clanricarde, and a member of the Anglo-Norman de Burgo (Burke) family. Located in eastern County Galway near the north shore of Lough Derg, the partially-fortified castle is Jacobean in design. The immense structure is built in a rectangular block with a tower on each corner, and firing holes for those who might have to defend the castle can still be seen in each of the towers. It was the Irish home to the de Burgo family for over 200 years until it was destroyed by fire in 1828.

Derryhivenny Castle
This fortress was built by Donal O'Madden in 1643 and situated at Ballycrossaum, north of Portumna. It has stood a number of battles in the area. To date, tourists can explore what remained of this once majestic castle. The mullioned windows, the spyhole, a fireplace, the hinge stone or the hanging eye and the chimneypots can still be viewed – though they aren’t appear as they used to be.

Portumna Workhouse
Portumna was one of the new Poor Law Unions created in Ireland between 1848 and 1850. Portumna Workhouse open in 1852 and was one of 33 opened after the Famine. As such, life there was not as harsh as in the 130 earlier workhouses opened before and during the Famine.

Portumna Yew Walk
The Yew Walk In Portumna is a short walk from the Adams Gates of Portumna Castle to the rear wall of the Church of Ireland.

Forest Park
The lake fringed Forest Park and Wildlife sanctuary is home to a variety of species of birds and deer. It is an excellent setting for relaxing walks, scenic pinics and beautiful nature trails.

Portumna Abbey
The ruins of the abbey in Portumna forest park are from a thirteenth century Cistercian abbey. The abbey was handed over to the Dominicans sometime in the fifteenth century and was converted for Protestant worship in the eighteenth century.



Towns & Localities in County Galway

 Aran Islands | Athenry | Ballinasloe | Ballygar | Barna | Carna | Carraroe | Claregalway | Clarinbridge | Clifden | Clonbur | Corofin
Connemara | Corrandulla | Dunmore | Galway City | Glenamaddy | Gort | Headford | Kinvara | Leenane | Loughrea | Milltown | Monivea
 Mountbellew | Moycullen | Oranmore | Oughterard | Portumna | Renvyle | Salthill | Spiddal | Tuam | Turloughmore | Williamstown

home | towns | accommodation | B&B | hotels | self catering | arts | attractions | business | education | wap
employment | entertainment | festivals | genealogy | heritage | industry | leisure | links | maps | news | gallery
 political | property | restaurants | shopping | sporting | tourism | travel | weather | what's on | advertise | contact

Website designed by Western-Webs, Tuam County Galway Ireland 

©2007 County Galway Guide, all rights reserved