The castle was built prior to 1618 by Richard de Burgo
(Burke), the 4th Earl of Clanricarde, and a member of the
Anglo-Norman de Burgo (Burke) family. Located in eastern
County Galway near the north shore of Lough Derg, the
partially-fortified castle is Jacobean in design. The
immense structure is built in a rectangular block with a
tower on each corner, and firing holes for those who might
have to defend the castle can still be seen in each of the
towers. It was the Irish home to the de Burgo family for
over 200 years until it was destroyed by fire in 1828.
This fortress was built by Donal O'Madden in 1643 and situated at Ballycrossaum, north of
Portumna. It has stood a number of battles in the area. To date, tourists
can explore what remained of this once majestic castle. The mullioned
windows, the spyhole, a fireplace, the hinge stone or the hanging eye and
the chimneypots can still be viewed – though they aren’t appear as they
used to be.
Portumna was one of the new Poor Law Unions created in
Ireland between 1848 and 1850. Portumna Workhouse
open in 1852 and was one of 33 opened after the Famine. As
such, life there was not as harsh as in the 130 earlier
workhouses opened before and during the Famine.
Portumna Yew Walk
The Yew Walk In Portumna is a short walk from the Adams
Gates of Portumna Castle to the rear wall of the Church of
The lake fringed Forest Park and Wildlife sanctuary is home
to a variety of species of birds and deer. It is an
excellent setting for relaxing walks, scenic pinics and
beautiful nature trails.
The ruins of the abbey in Portumna forest park are from a thirteenth
century Cistercian abbey. The abbey was handed over to the Dominicans
sometime in the fifteenth century and was converted for Protestant worship
in the eighteenth century.